<!--:es-->9th Annual International Hispanic Awards a Resounding Success<!--:-->

9th Annual International Hispanic Awards a Resounding Success

Maricela Garcia / La Prensa Hispana

The Crystal Ballroom at the Esmeralda Renaissance Resort in Indian Wells, Ca. was filled with wall to wall tables as the 500 guests enjoyed the formal dress evening brought together to honor 16 individuals and 3 businesses. February 19th definitely will be a date remembered by the honorees. The surroundings were plush, the food was great and the community came together as one big happy family to recognize and honor 452 years of community service provided by the honorees.

Senator Jim Battin, California was honored as the “Legislator of the Year,” for his numerous contributions to the community he serves, Elmer’s Restaurant in Indio was honored as “Business of the Year,” Time Warner Cable was “ Media of the Year” and Hispanic Digital Network, Miami was the “International Media Network of the Year”.

The awards were as follows: George Araya, Education Technology, Leadership Award, Araceli Ayala, Mentor/Guidance Award, Edwin and Marilyn Benachowski both received the Lifetime Cultural Enrichment Award, Joseph Abelardo Daily, Exemplary Achievement Award, Darlene Dolan, Community Leadership Award, Cynthia Flores, Education Empowerment Award, Actor Director Juan Carlos Frey, Film Media Cultural Ambassador Award, CHP Officer Henry Guerrero, Leadership Appreciation Award, Dr. Enrique Jacome, Women’s Health Care, Advocate of the Year, Cesar Leo Marcus, International Journalism Ambassador, John Mealey, Affordable Housing, Leadership Award, Elvira Murillo, Visionary Leadership Award, Rose Tijerina Swearingen, Self-Enlightenment Mentor Award and Attorney George Williams, Community Advocate Award.

The entertainment was provided by recording artist, guitar maestro Anthony Arrizaga and the powerful Veracruz melodies from the Galantes with Ricardo Vasquez and Alonso Consevida.

The International Hispanic Awards was sponsored by the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians, Senator Jim Battin and Time Warner Cable who are founding sponsors and Assemblywoman Bonnie Garcia, Guaranty Bank, Desert Regional Medical Center, Holiday Inn Express and Wells Fargo Bank.

The event is presented annually by founders, La Prensa Hispana Newspaper in Indio, California, Publisher Ana Rascon Vasquez and produced by Hispanic Image Marketing Network/www.hispanicimagemarketing.com, Al Vasquez, CEO.